Ayurveda is one of the most powerful and widely-used mind-body health systems in the world. Literally translated, Ayurveda means the science of life ( “Ayur” meaning life and “Veda” meaning science). Overall, this practice is meant to offer wisdom to the body, helping those who practice it to remain happy and healthy.

What Are The Main Principles of Ayurveda?

There are two guiding principles of Ayurveda. These are as follows:

  1. The mind and the body are inextricably connected and
  2. There is nothing that has more power to heal and transform the entire body more than the mind.

Those who live by the Ayurvedic tradition believe that our bodies are capable of healing from within by working with nature to balance the three doshas, of which the body is composed. These doshas work together to make your body fully healthy and happy. By keeping the doshas balanced, it is thought that the overall health of the body can improve. So let’s talk about the different doshas you should be attempting to balance.


The Three Doshas

When you are learning about Ayurveda, your focus will likely circulate around the three doshas known as:

  1. Vata (air/space)
  2. Pitta (fire/water)
  3. Kapha (earth/water)

The key to finding balance between these three, is to first be able to recognize them in yourself. By taking account of the different characteristics that are more prominent in yourself, you can begin to examine how you can balance them more effectively. Let’s discuss some of the most common traits of people with more dominant doshas below.

Your Vata may be more prevalent if you:

  • Are likely hungry at all times of the day and night.
  • Very much enjoy excitement and constant change.
  • Do not go to bed at the same time each night.
  • May skip meals or have irregular eating habits.
  • Experience sudden bursts of emotion that are often over before they begin.
  • Walk fast.

Your Pitta may be more prevalent if you:

  • Feel extremely hungry even if dinner is only half an hour late.
  • Do not like to have your time wasted and are always on time.
  • Wake up in the middle of the night hot and thirsty.
  • Always feel as though you should take command of every situation.
  • Are often told you are too sarcastic, critical, and demanding at times.
  • Walk in a determined manner.

Your Kapha may be more prevalent if you:

  • Tend to take a long time making decisions.
  • Wake up slowly and lie in bed for a long time after waking.
  • Experience genuine empathy and are always respecting others feelings.
  • Look to food for comfort.
  • Have a graceful walk.

So which dosha is your strongest? You can work to make one less dominant than the rest with the right practice and by setting the right intentions. But we will talk about that later. Check back to the Nobe Yoga blog soon to learn more about Ayurvada, the three doshas and how yoga can bring balance to them. We are Miami Beach’s best yoga studio. Stop in today to learn more!

Join Our Studio Today